Picks 1, 2 and 8 go to the Sharks in the AFL mini-draft

Brianna Davey continues to rack up accolades in her debut season for the Sharks. Since debuting with the Sharks in round 5, Brianna has been named in the best players in all seven of the games she’s played. In June she represented Victoria in a match against NSW at Punt Oval and today she was selected with the number one pick in the AFL mini-draft. She will represent the Western Bulldogs with fellow Shark Moana Hope in the first ever televised AFL women’s game at Etihad Stadium, August 16.


The good news kept coming for the Sharks with Brittany Bonnici taken with pick 2 for the Dees. Brit captained the Victorian youth girls side and was named All Australian at the youth girls carnival earlier in the year. Since debuting with the Sharks Brittany has played a pivotal role in the Sharks midfield. She joins a very strong Melbourne outfit who have won all three of the AFL sanctioned games that have been played since the AFL women’s games began in 2013.


Pick number eight went to Jenna Bruton, another one of the Sharks young guns that continues to impress. In 2013  Jenna was selected to play in the first match at the MCG representing the doggies. She will now represent Melbourne with Brit, making it two Sharks on the Bulldogs list and two representing Melbourne.

Only ten players were selected in todays mini-draft and having three come from the Sharks is an awesome achievement.

A big congratulations to Brianna, Brittany and Jenna. We’re all super proud #gosharks #godogs #godees



2015 AFL women’s mini-draft selections 

1. Western Bulldogs
Brianna Davey (St Kilda, VIC)

2. Melbourne
Brittany Bonnici (St Kilda, VIC)

3. Western Bulldogs
Tahlia Randall (Nambour-Maroochydore, QLD)

4. Melbourne
Sabrina Frederick-Traub (South Fremantle, WA)

5. Western Bulldogs
Caitlyn Edwards (East Fremantle, WA)

6. Melbourne
Tiarna Ernst (Diamond Creek, VIC)

7. Western Bulldogs
Emma Humphries (Burnie Dockers, TAS)

8. Melbourne
Jenna Bruton (St Kilda, VIC)

9. Western Bulldogs
Maddy Collier (UNSW, NSW/ACT)

10. Melbourne
Jessica Dal Pos (Darebin, VIC)