Round 5 – A win for the reserves and positive signs for the seniors in Darebin (Match Report)

A hard slog at AH Capp Reserve saw the Sharks come away with one win along with a fair bit of respect today. We’re looking forward to seeing the improvement ahead before the return clash against the Falcons.


The Sharks Division 1 team got off to a good start kicking 3 first quarter goals to take a 14pt lead into quarter time. Conditions were hard and the Sharks struggled to score in the 2nd quarter while the Falcons kicked 2 goals reducing the Sharks lead to just 2 pts at the half time break.

Determined to bounce back and thinking about the coaches words of encouragement, the Sharks went on to kick the only 2 goals of the 2nd half recording a 12 pt win. After the game a number of Sharks couldn’t recall ever having won at Darebin before, a terrific effort.

Kayla Mizzi kicked 2 goals with Tully, Liston, Arzoumanian, Maxwell, George-Brimson (The soon to be AFL CEO) and skipper Ralph named in the Sharks best players.

St Kilda 3.2, 3.2, 4.2, 5.2 (32)
Darebin 1.0, 3.0, 3.2, 3.2 (20)

St Kilda : K. Mizzi 2, H. Maxwell 1, G. Vanderwaal 1, K. Canuto 1
Darebin : E. Campbell 1, E. Casamento 1, A. Damiano 1

St Kilda : A. Tully, N. Liston, A. Arzoumanian, H. Maxwell, E. George-Brimson, K. Ralph
Darebin : M. Van Riel, N. Kinross, K. Tyndall, A. Reivers, G. Hammond, L. Half Penny



It was hard going all day for our Premier Division side coming up against the VWFL powerhouse. The Sharks fought, kicking 2 goals in the first quarter. The Falcons got out to a 52 pt lead by half time, we worked hard in the 2nd half kicking 3 goals with the final margin 72 pts.

This was a hard fought game with a fair few bruising tackles, congratulations to the Sharks for having a real crack.

Whilst the coaches and players won’t be pleased with the result it was encouraging to see the Sharks kick 5 goals today, the most of any team this season against the reigning premiers.

Amy Catterall kicked 2 goals with skipper Chapman, Bourdon, McWilliams, McFerran, Heffernan and Brown named in the best.

Darebin 5.3, 10.4, 12.6, 15.12 (102)
St Kilda Sharks 2.0, 2.0, 3.0, 5.0 (30)

Darebin : A. O’Connor 3, J. Lange 3, L. Arnell 2, E. O’Dea 2, S. Simpson 2, D. Vescio 1, S. Egan 1, K. Paxman 1
St Kilda Sharks: A. Catterall 2, P. Cula-Reid 1, G. Harris 1, M. Hope 1

Darebin : A. O’Connor, R. Privitelli, N. Callinan, D. Pearce, E. O’Dea, S. Simpson
St Kilda Sharks : S. Chapman, C. Bourdon, P. McWilliams, S. McFerran, C. Heffernan, S. Brown

10402554_10154247621775707_5298913153091041744_n 10426706_10154247622245707_8807505229786030005_n